Soon: Chapter 16: And Yet More Lies

I so promise that I am working on the post about the timeline!  But I’ve got some family stuff going on, so for now, just a quickie with more adventures of The Christians in the Salt Mines.

Angela and Straight wander off together, and Angela makes vague reference to “a new mission” out west.  This will, of course, become significant shortly, and bonus points to anyone who can guess the city out west where Angela’s mission will be!

Oh, and here’s the kicker–Angela asks Straight to keep it a secret from Paul that she’s there.  So Straight is both keeping it a secret from Paul that Angela is a Christian (though Paul suspects), and he is keeping it a secret from Angela that Paul is married.

Awww, Straight is so sweet–Paul didn’t even ask him to do that.  What a gem.

The really funny part?  Later on, Straight expresses the wish that Christians be known as “honest.”

They part ways, and Straight and Simeon have a little conversation, culminating in this bit:

“It’s incredible, the work you all do here.”  [Straight said]  “Maintaining a library.  Copying old books.  Printing and circulating flyers.  Training teachers to establish or lead Christian communities.  Sending missionaries.  Maintaining a network of Christian groups, spreading the news.  Being a haven for victims of persecution.  It’s a lot.”

“Just keeping the faith, man.” [said Simeon]

Jenkins sure has an ear for dialogue, doesn’t he?  I can’t tell you how many times every day that a friend visits my workplace and recites a long-winded list of all my job duties to me.

It strikes me that Straight might be feeling just the teeeeniest bit inadequate right now.  Simeon has been Doing the Work of the Lord in approximately 4,326 ways, and Straight has been…volunteering at a hospital, just hoping that he’ll bump into a NPO agent on a spiritual journey.  No wonder he’s so anxious that they recruit Paul to the cause–how else will be show that he’s “keeping the faith“?

Hopefully more this weekend, including the timeline and Jae’s glorious plan to leave Paul!

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Books, Soon. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. So Straight is both keeping it a secret from Paul that Angela is a Christian (though Paul suspects), and he is keeping it a secret from Angela that Paul is married.

    It sounds weaselly of Straight to keep all these secrets, but I for one think he’s doing the right thing. As a very wise individual once said, “Losing a friend’s trust is the fastest way to lose a friend forever.”

  2. Ruby, something happened I want to tell someone about just so a slacktivite knows. I don’t feel comfortable telling the mods after… they either didn’t get or ignored an email and I’m tired of guessing. And I waved a flag and I’m not sure anyone noticed.

    I’m in a bad enough spot that I just can’t go back and look again. Can I email you? Or just leave it in a moderated comment that gets deleted or something?

    • hidden_urchin

      Whatever is going on, sharky, you are in my thoughts.

      • Thank you. I’m sorry it ended like this, but things skated rather close to ending entirely for me and didn’t, so I can’t complain.

        But back to the topic; sorry for the derail..

    • sharky, I’m sorry to hear that things aren’t going well, but I would really like to keep my blog on-topic. I’m not comfortable addressing personal issues for people who visit.

      • All right. Apologies.

        It would probably be best if I just left the Slacktiverse and environs entirely, then.

  3. bonus points to anyone who can guess the city out west where Angela’s mission will be!

    Las Vegas, den of sin? Or maybe San Francisco, den of gay sin?

    • Headless Unicorn Guy

      This is Jerry “Buck” Jenkins, with all the See-How-Clever-I-Am allegorical character names. And a proven tin ear for same. Wadda you think?

      • But what cities on the west coast could Jenkins possibly use as a stupefyingly ham-handed pun, in line with the rest of his usual-

        Oh. Oh. The city of angels.

        I hate Jerry Jenkins. Hatehatehate.

  4. I hope it’s Los Angeles or SF or San Diego, because the West Coast was supposed to have been devastated by a tidal wave a few years before and I want to see if Jenkins has forgotten already.

  5. Ooh, ooh, could it possibly be “the city of Angels”? Nah, even Jenkins isn’t that trite. I’m hoping its Denver because I’m tired of writers ignoring the entire center of the country in favor of the coasts.

  6. Oh dear, I was curious about how Soon relates to the timeline of LB that Jenkins also worked on when I first visited this blog, and now it seems like I send our host into an epic quest. (At least, I think it was in response to my question.)

  7. I can’t tell you how many times every day that a friend visits my workplace and recites a long-winded list of all my job duties to me.

    Actually, if Simeon had responded with a list of all the things Straight does (Hey, you’re dealing with plenty of challenges yourself – molesting hospital patients, blatantly telegraphing your Christian faith to government officials, enabling potential adultery…) it’d be a halfway decent copy of the awkward-romance scene between the camp director and the associate professor of astrophysics from Wet Hot American Summer. Except, you know, those two were meant to be clueless about social interaction.

  8. Remember, folks, “being honest” means “not telling lies”. Leaving stuff out is just dandy!

  9. As is saying deliberately misleading things that are technically true but which you know will be misunderstood. And of course lying with a straight face because the writer forgot that what you’re saying was shown to be false 80 pages ago.

  10. It’s not as if copying old books is such a big deal, though. They’re all on Googlebooks by now, and all you have to do is download them. Not that anybody reads any books other than the bible and Left Behind, of course – that would be timewasting left-deviationism.

Leave a Reply

